The storms in Southeast South Dakota this fall were devastating to many homeowners, farmers and businesses. Recently, President Donald Trump approved a presidential disaster declaration for September storm damage.

The declaration, which includes both individual and public assistance, covers the period of Sept. 9-Sept. 26. Preliminary assessments total at least $17 million in requested federal assistance.

Assistance now comes in the form of the Small Business Administration’s Disaster Assistance office opening up in Sioux Falls at 2329 North Career Avenue. SBA customer service representatives will be available to meet individually with people who need assistance.

According to the governor’s office, among the South Dakota counties included in the request for public assistance are Brookings, Charles Mix, Davison, Hanson, Hutchinson, Lake, Lincoln, McCook, Minnehaha, Moody, and Yankton.

South Dakota has now received four disaster declarations this year.


More From KKRC-FM / 97.3 KKRC